9 Oct 2015


Louisville Minimum Wage, is it the same as the rest of Kentucky? There has been some confusion about the minimum wage laws in Kentucky.  Kentucky’s minimum wage is $7.25 per hour and has not been changed as of the writing of this post. The Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Government passed an ordinance to change the minimum wage to $7.75 per hour effective July 1, 2015 for employees who work in the Louisville Metro area.  The ordinance provides for future increases to: $8.15 on July 1, 2016 and finally $9 on July 1, 2017.  A number of local businesses  filed suit  in February of 2015 in Jefferson Circuit Court asking the court to decide that Metro Louisville did not have the power or right to increase Kentucky’s minimum wage. The case has been working its way through the Kentucky legal system.  Recently, The Kentucky Supreme Court entered an order transferring the case to it from the Kentucky Court of Appeals.  (Case number 2015-SC-000371).    A decision is not expected until sometime next year. 


  • Pat is a fighter. It's great to have someone like this on your side. She does extensive research and is fully prepared to do battle in court. Thank you Pat for all your great work, professionalism and dedication.

    - Matthew Burg
Read More
  • AVVO
Areas Served :

Patricia Abell's Law office is located in Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky. My office serves clients living in the Kentucky counties of Breckinridge, Bullitt, Hardin, Jefferson, Larue, Marion, Meade, Nelson, Oldham, Spencer and Washington, This includes the cities of Cloverport, Hardinsburg, Irvington, Fox Chase, Hebron Estates, Hillview, Lebanon Junction, Mount Washington, Pioneer Village, Shepherdsville, Elizabethtown, Radcliff, Sonora, Upton, Vine Grove, West Point, Anchorage, Audubon Park, Buechel, Goose Creek, Hurstbourne, Jeffersontown, Okolona, Prospect, Hodgenville, Bradfordsville, Lebanon, Loretto, Raywick, Brandenburg, Ekron, Muldraugh, Bardstown, Bloomfield, Fairfield, New Haven, Crestwood, Goshen, Lagrange, Pewee Valley, Taylorsville, Elk Creek, Mount Eden, Springfield.